Review of REN Hydra-Calm Cleansing Milk

Posted on November 22, 2012

0



One of the skin care routines that I never skimp out on is washing my face before I hit the sack.  It is imperative to rid all the impurities off your skin so that the dirt and grim do not get onto your pillow covers and haunt you throughout your sleep.  So I am always intrigued to try out the latest facial cleansers.  Here is our product review of REN Clean Skincare’s Hydra-Calm Cleansing Milk .

REN skin care products are found in over 50 countries across the world.    Their philosophy is based off of 3 words: Performance, Purity, and Pleasure, meaning that their line uses groundbreaking product formulations and 100% natural plant and mineral ingredients without the use of parabens, sulfates,  synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs, and triclosan.

First off the packaging of the product looks super clean.  The cleansing milk is actually inside a thin plastic bag which sits inside the bottle.  So when the product is half empty, you can see a partially shriveled up bag inside the housing.  With the product almost all used it, the pruned up bag detracts from the clean packaging look in my opinion.

And now for performance critique, the Hydra-Calm Cleansing Milk does a very poor job at removing makeup and dirt.  The product description on the bottle says it “gently removes dirt, pollution, and makeup.”  I think the word “gently” is too generously used here.  If you are expecting to buy a face cleanser that will get the caked make-up off, this product is not for you.  I always wonder why lots of manufacturers of skin care products advertise products which do not even come close to function as they are advertised to.  I also found that my face felt “waxy” after use.  This waxy feeling is very undesirable  but I guess a result of it being a creamy milk cleanser.  Does washing your face with milk feel like this too?  I’ll have to try one day!

To sum it all up, the REN Hydra-Calm Cleansing Milk is a product that I have no hesitation to throw in the garbage.  Priced at $32 for a 5.1 oz, I certainly was expecting a lot more from it especially since it has a pretty stellar ingredient list.  This is my first REN skincare product I have tried out and I hope the other products in the line are not like this one.

