Review of CHANEL CC Cream – Complete Correction Creme

Posted on September 26, 2012

2



I had a friend just visit from China last month and of course once I had found out of her travel plans, I immediately phoned her and asked her to buy me 3 tubes of the Chanel CC Cream (called Complete Correction cream / Color Control cream). If you are wondering what a CC cream is, you can read my previous post about them here. I had to see what all the hype was about them and immediately write a product reivew of the Chanel Complete Correction creme after some thorough use. And if you are a new viewer to my blog, I am male but I use both male and female products all the time.

is it worth the hype?

So now I have been using this product daily for almost three weeks now. And the money question is “Does the Chanel Complete Correction Cream live up to its hype?”. My answer is yes but not a screaming YES!.

My review of the Chanel product is all relative to my past experiences with two Korean BB (Blemish Balm) Creams — BRTC Jasmine Water $28 & The Premier Gold $45.
An instant noticeable difference is that the Chanel CC Cream is more easily spreadable onto the face
. One of the downfalls of bb creams is that they are generally thick and goey products and application must be made via “dabbing” it onto your skin instead of loosely spreading it onto your face like a lotion. With the new Chanel product, its enhanced spreadability makes it A LOT easier to use and will save you time in front of the mirror.

Now as far as its hydrating properties, I did not really notice anything considerable in terms of improvement when compared to the other two top Korean BB cremes. It’s probably because the moisturization of BB creams (maybe it’s called “BB” because it gives you Baby’s Butt skin) was excellent in the first place. However, the Chanel CC Cream’s moisturization lasted from morning to night and seemed to outperform the bb cremes in time performance but not really in product performance.

A lot of hype was said that the CC creams would now be light-weight feeling on the skin. But I don’t agree with that. Every day of my using the Chanel creme for almost 3 weeks, my face always felt heavy and slightly greasy just like the days I used the BB cremes. Hello….this was one of the main reasons why I was so excited about the “new bb cream on steroids” but man was I disappointed.

Overall, I do see the Chanel Complete Correction Cream SPF30 / PA+++ $92 a modest improvement over the BB Cream counterparts. It certainly is worth trying but I am not sure what I will do with my 2 other tubes. Maybe I will give them away as gifts to my friends. Again, after I finish the remaining product in this tube, I’ll revert back to my trusty TwinLuxe Anti-Aging SPF Moisturizer $48 as I still think this new product is the king of 2012.

